CMT AWARDS: Nominees Announced


CMT has announced the nominees for this year’s CMT Music AwardsLainey Wilson leads the list with four nominations, while Cody JohnsonJelly Roll and Kane Brown follow with three. In addition, 21 artists are receiving their first CMT nominations.

The CMT Awards, hosted by Kelsea Ballerini and Kane Brown, broadcast live from the Moody Center in Austin, Texas April 2nd on CBS. 

The nominees for the 2023 CMT Music Awards are:

Video of the Year
Top 6 nominees, from the first round of voting, will be announced on March 27. The final 3 nominees, from the second round of voting, will be announced on show day, April 2. Final voting will be determined via social media and announced as the final category during the live show.

  • Ashley McBryde, Caylee Hammack, Brandy Clark and Pillbox Patti – “Bonfire At Tina’s”
  • Blake Shelton – “No Body”
  • Carrie Underwood – “Hate My Heart”
  • Cody Johnson – “Human”
  • Elle King featuring Dierks Bentley – “Worth A Shot”
  • Gabby Barrett – “Pick Me Up”
  • Hardy featuring Lainey Wilson – “Wait in the Truck”
  • Jimmie Allen – “Down Home”
  • Kane Brown and Katelyn Brown – “Thank God”
  • Keith Urban – “Wild Hearts”
  • Kelsea Ballerini – “Heartfirst”
  • Little Big Town – “Rich Man”
  • Luke Bryan – “Country On”
  • Luke Combs – “The Kind Of Love We Make”
  • Morgan Wallen – “You Proof”
  • Walker Hayes – “AA”

Female Video of the Year

  • Carly Pearce– What He Didn’t Do”
  • Carrie Underwood – “Ghost Story”
  • Gabby Barrett – “Pick Me Up”
  • Kelsea Ballerini – “Heartfirst”
  • Lainey Wilson – “Heart Like A Truck”
  • Maren Morris – “Humble Quest”
  • Miranda Lambert – “Actin’ Up”

Male Video of the Year

  • Bailey Zimmerman – “Rock and A Hard Place”
  • Cody Johnson – “Human”
  • Cole Swindell – “She Had Me At Heads Carolina”
  • Jelly Roll – “Son Of A Sinner”
  • Kane Brown – “Like I Love Country Music”
  • Luke Combs – “The Kind Of Love We Make”
  • Morgan Wallen – “Wasted On You”

Group/Duo Video of the Year

  • Dan and Shay – “You (Performance Video)”
  • Lady A – “Summer State Of Mind”
  • Little Big Town – “Hell Yeah”
  • Parmalee – “Take My Name”
  • The War And Treaty – “That’s How Love Is Made”
  • Zac Brown Band – “Out In The Middle”

Breakthrough Female Video of the Year

  • Avery Anna – “Narcissist”
  • Kylie Morgan – “If He Wanted To He Would”
  • MacKenzie Porter – “Pickup”
  • Megan Moroney – “Tennessee Orange”
  • Morgan Wade – “Wilder Days”
  • Tiera Kennedy – “Found It In You”

Breakthrough Male Video of the Year

  • Bailey Zimmerman – “Fall In Love”
  • Corey Kent – “Wild as Her”
  • Drake Milligan – “Sounds Like Something I’d Do”
  • Jackson Dean – “Don’t Come Lookin’”
  • Jelly Roll – “Son Of A Sinner”
  • Nate Smith – “Whiskey On You”

Collaborative Video of the Year 

  • Elle King featuring Dierks Bentley – “Worth A Shot”
  • Hardy featuring Lainey Wilson – “Aait in the Truck”
  • Ingrid Andress with Sam Hunt – “Wishful Drinking”
  • Kane Brown and Katelyn Brown – “Thank God”
  • Midland featuring Jon Pardi – “Longneck Way To Go”
  • Russell Dickerson featuring Jake Scott – “She Likes It”
  • Thomas Rhett and Katy Perry – “Where We Started”

CMT Performace of the Year

  • Black Pumas and Mickey Guyton – “Colors” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards)
  • Chris Stapleton – “Whenever You Come Around” (from CMT Giants: Vince Gill)
  • Cody Johnson – “‘Til You Can’t” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards)
  • Cole Swindell and Lainey Wilson – “Never Say Never” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards
  • Darius Rucker – “Let Her Cry” (from CMT Storytellers)
  • Emmy Russell and Lukas Nelson – “Lay Me Down” (from Coal Miner’s Daughter: A Celebration of the Life & Music of Loretta Lynn)
  • Keith Urban – “Wild Hearts” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards)
  • LeAnn Rimes with Ashley McBryde and Carly Pearce – “One Way Ticket” (from CMT Crossroads: LeAnn Rimes & Friends)
  • The Judds – “Love Can Build A Bridge” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards)
  • Wynonna Judd and Brandi Carlile – “The Rose” (from Naomi Judd: A River of Time Celebration)

CMT Digital-First Performance of the Yeaer

  • Charley Crockett – “Time of the Cottonwood Trees“ (from CMT Campfire Sessions)
  • Chris Young – “Gettin’ You Home” (from CMT Stages)
  • Ingrid Andress – “Wishful Drinking” (from CMT Studio Sessions
  • Jelly Roll – “Son of A Sinner” (from CMT All Access)
  • Megan Moroney – “Tennessee Orange” (from CMT Viral To Verified
  • Scotty McCreery – “Damn Strait” (from CMT Campfire Sessions)
Previous Post
Next Post
Thursday, March 9, 2023

Lima, OH
6:13 am8:52 pm EDT
Feels like: 72°F
Wind: 6mph S
Humidity: 62%
Pressure: 29.88"Hg
UV index: 0
82°F / 61°F
81°F / 61°F
84°F / 64°F